Day 21: what does your favorite tshirt look like

During my first year of university, I was talking with my friends before our Swedish exam. We were kind of joking about feeling like we didn’t know much. One of my friends than jokingly said she would just write “dancing” if she didn’t know an answer because dancing is the answer to everything. This joke resonated with me as I love to dance (however badly) and I do acknowledge its ability to make troubles float away.

Fastforward two years later, I’m shopping for a dress for a Christmas party and I look over to my right and I see this purple t-shirt with the word “Dancing” written on it with a little heart. My own heart started pounding. I was only supposed to by a dress and a black tanktop for my mother, my mind went back and forth. Should I buy it? Yes! Although…I don’t really need a new t-shirt…on the other hand it is my size and it does fit me and my personality…but can I really use mom’s credit card for this without asking her first….oh screw it! This t-shirt needs me!


Day 22: how you judge intelligence

You know the saying “life gives you a test and then a lesson”? This is my starting point for how I judge people. If a person is willing to take a risk once in a while and then handles it well without everything blowing up completely first, then that person is probably intelligent.


Day 23: a month/year of your life when you were happiest and why

There are two periods of my life that I consider truly happy. The first was the month of July in 2009, it was the month I went to Valencia (Spain) for a language course, it was the first time I took a plane alone and it was the first time I actively had to make an effort to learn a language. I loved it, it was my first shot at being a responsible human being. When the language course ended, I travelled to France (again on my own like a big girl) to meet my dad. We then went on a road trip through the South of France. It was the last trip we ever took together before life got in the way but in that moment we didn’t know what was gonna happen so we had the opportunity to just enjoy each other’s company, the lovely weather and the great things we learned about France’s history and cultural scene.

The second period of my life that I consider truly happy was the year I lived in Finland with my host family. It has again to do with responsibility because it’s where I learned to deal with budgets and freedom to organise my own timetable. It’s when I got the opportunity to develop who I wanted to be without having to explain any of my decisions or actions. It’s when I discovered what being in peace means.


Day 24: your favorite 10 people right now and why

I cannot answer this. I don’t organise the people according to how much I like them or not. I appreciate all my friends for who they are and not something else. I refuse to rank people, it’s disturbing.


Day 25: the last movie you watched

Juno”, I wouldn’t recommend it, too superficial, not even slightly funny.

Published by belgianworldcitizen

World citizen, currently living in Belgium

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.